The Sex Offender Section registers; confirms addresses of registered offenders and arrests and prosecutes those offenders in violation of North Carolina General Statutes. This law requires a person who is a resident of North Carolina and who has a reportable conviction to maintain registration with the sheriff of the county where the person resides. If the person moves to North Carolina from outside this State, the person shall register within 3 days of establishing residence in this State, or whenever the person has been present in the State for 15 days, whichever comes first.
As of Octoberthere are approximately 17, sex offenders currently registered in NC, of which approximately live in Cabarrus County at any given time NC Sex Offender Registry. During the initial interview the offender must provide proof of address, identification, provide all contact numbers and be fingerprinted and photographed. The offenders are advised of the laws with which they must comply.
Return to Services. North Carolina law requires sex offenders who have been convicted of certain offenses to register with their county sheriff. The sheriff collects information from the offender and court documents.
The North Carolina Sex Offender Registry is a database which houses the information of any person who lives in, moves to, is a resident student in, or nonresident worker in North Carolina with a reportable conviction under the Sex Offender Registration requirements. Here are the time frames for each offender category:. Only persons with Part 2 classification are eligible for removal from the registry at least 10 years after initial registration date exempt those with both Part 2 and 3 classifications. After a decade, these individuals may petition the superior court to terminate their registry status.
Post release supervision for sex offenders in North Carolina — In North Carolina, the felony sentencing guidelines provide a basis for being able to determine how much time someone will face in prison if they are convicted. This can get quite complicated, however, given the provisions for jail creditprison creditand post release supervision. Further, the post release supervision for sex offenders is a little bit different for people that have been convicted of other felonies.
Under North Carolina law, certain persons who have been convicted of certain sex offenses are required to establish and maintain registration in compliance with the North Carolina Sex Offender and Public Protection Registration Programs. The Registration Programs are governed by. Resident offenders: shall register immediately upon conviction when an active term of imprisonment is not imposed.
Investigators say the five men pictured in this story are all registered sex offenders who each have at least one charge of a sex offender violation, while some of the men are also charged with violent crimes. Travis Lamont Phillips was 35 when he took indecent liberties with a year-old. He was convicted of those crimes in January
The state of North Carolina has a strict law against sex offenders. The state protects its residents by ensuring that persons convicted of a sexual offense have little or no chance at re-offending. Duration of registration depends on the possibility of an offender to re-offend.
Jump to a detailed profile, search site with google or try advanced search. According to our research of North Carolina and other state lists, there were 23 registered sex offenders living in Brevard as of September 13, The ratio of all residents to sex offenders in Brevard is to 1. No representation is made that the persons listed here are currently on the state's sex offenders registry.